Gallery

Another Snowshoe Race is in the Books

The famous Bigfoot

The famous Bigfoot

Before Start with Adam

Before Start with Adam

IMAG0941

nice selfie

nice selfie

sweaty

sweaty

perdy

perdy

with John the Race director

with John the Race director

Another snowshoe race is in the books. This year I ran the 25k again along with Adam “SlimJim” Hurricane-Buster. The weather and conditions were about as good as I could have asked. The trail (10k loop) was nicely groomed. But I digress, the fun began at 9:10 a.m. with a”go!”. I ran the first 10k loop at a descent pace but not too fast. I walked a fair amount of the steep hills. First -place winner (Kandice) and  I passed and re-passed each other often through-out.

I ate a few gu’s and Sports beans, checked my name in at the loop end and headed up the steep 5k loop. Quite the climb, and most of it in shade. That caused me to cool down a bit. About the top the calves began cramping (no!). But I trudged down as fast as I dare. I had my pockets too full and had to cinch up my pants at the bottom. I tried to adjust my snowshoes as well since the left kept turing pigeon-toe. But whatever I tried never worked so I just went with it.

I checked in before my last loop, filled me bottle with heed (sick) and sat in the snow for a while, until I saw Kandice coming,then I hopped up and scooted away, I knew it was only a matter of time before she caught me. I also knew we were sitting at #1 and #2 respectively. She did eventually catch me on a slight 8% grade hill and I tried to stay with her for a bend or two then gave up. She was tough as nails running up every hill.

I got to the aid station and grabbed a Red bull and some potatoes. As I went on I thought that there was no way I would catch her, until near the top when I saw her, I kept track and saw I was about 4-5 minutes behind her. But I had little steam for the downhill and never saw her again.

The last 2 miles I knew I was close to my goal of sub 3 hours. But I had to put the hurt on and dig deep. I tried hard not to walk much but the exhaustion was killing me. The last .5 mile I just gritted my teeth and finished it off. Getting an official time of 2:59:55! Although I looked at my Garmin watch and it says 2:59:51, but whats 4 seconds?

End result is I got 1st place Male, and 2nd place overall, woopt-de-doo! I can’t wait to suffer all over again next year. But really this year was much better. I kept my feet dry for 75% of the race and cut 26 minutes from last years time, so who’s complaining?

Here is the exciting map #”s : http://www.strava.com/activities/108979759

One thought on “Another Snowshoe Race is in the Books

Leave a Reply

